Things To Celebrate

This section highlights our faculty accomplishments; please see our Student Accomplishments, as well.


  • June 2014: Ned Kalin, MD, was featured in The Cap Times for his work that connects monkey studies to better psychiatric treatments.
  • May 2014: Dr. Vincent Cryns was featured on page 14 of the Susan G. Komen newsletter for his writing and research on how obesity fuels the initial growth or recurrence of cancer.
  • April 2014: Dr. Shigeki Miyamoto, professor of oncology, was awarded the Kellet Mid-Career Award. Dr. Miyamoto studies what happens when cells stop communicating effectively and how it leads to cancer. He is interested in a particular cell signaling molecule and the role it plays in nuclear stress, cancer cell growth and anticancer drug evasion. He was named an H.I. Romnes Faculty Fellow in 2005
  • April 2014: Dr. David Wassarman featured in the Spring 2014 issue of On Wisconsin Magazine for his research on head injuries. Read the article here.
  • April 2014: Luigi Puglielli, MD, PhD, associate professor, Division of Geriatrics and Gerontology, Department of Medicine, was invited to serve as a member of the Cellular Mechanisms in Aging and Development Study Section, Center for Scientific Review, from July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2018. Members are selected on the basis of their demonstrated competence and achievement in their scientific discipline as evidenced by the quality of research accomplishments, publications in scientific journals, and other significant scientific activities, achievements and honors. Study sections review grant applications submitted to the NIH, make recommendations on these applications to the appropriate NIH national advisory council or board, and survey the status of research in their fields of science. These functions are of great value to medical and allied research in this country.
  • March 2014: Two members of MCP faculty, Dr. Dave Beebe and Dr. Ronald Raines, have been appointed to Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation named professorships. The appointment includes $75,000 in research support from WARF over five years.
  • March 2014: Dr. Patricia Keely named Chair of Cell and Regenerative Biology and is featured in the Winter 2014 issue of the School of Medicine and Public Health’s Quarterly. Read the article here.
  • March 2014: Dr. Mark Burkard, Dr. Dave Beebe, and Dr. Michael Gouldcontribute to UW Health Breast Center and are featured in the Winter 2014 issue of the School of Medicine and Public Health’s Quarterly. Read the article here.
  • March 2014: Dr. John Denu finds that fatty acids, like Omega-3, play a role in our genes and is featured in the Winter 2014 issue of the School of Medicine and Public Health’s Quarterly. Read the article here.
  • March 2014: The 1st Annual Symposium on Therapeutics Discovery & Development is featured on page 3 in the latest issue of UW ITCR Today. Poster awardees at this event include three past MCP students: Chorom Pak, Ryan Behrens, and Kassondra Meyer.
  • March 2014: Bo Liu, PhD, Impact of the micromechanical environment on inflammation in AAA progression, was awarded a Winter 2014 Voucher Award in the second round competition for service vouchers from the ICTR TTRC group.
  • March 2014: The Wisconsin Partnership Program (WPP) has awarded New Investigator Program grants to five researchers at the SMPH. The New Investigator grants support assistant professors early in their careers to pursue innovative research and education efforts related to health improvement. WPP’s Partnership Education Research Committee awarded two-year, $100,000 grants to Lian-Wang Guo, PhD, assistant professor of surgery; Melissa Harrison, AB, PhD, assistant professor of biomolecular chemistry; Nancy Pandhi, MD, MPH, PhD, assistant professor of family medicine; Margaret Schwarze, MD, MPP, assistant professor of surgery; and Nathan Sherer, PhD, assistant professor of oncology. The New Investigator Program is one of seven grant programs administered by the Wisconsin Partnership Program. For more information, see the full article on the SMPH website. More information about the WPP is available on the organization’s website.
  • March 2014: Melissa Harrison, PhD, assistant professor, Department of Biomolecular Chemistry, was awarded a Basil O’Connor Starter Scholar Research Award funded by the March of Dimes. The award, totaling $150,000 over two years, will fund Harrison’s research exploring the role of the Grainyhead transcription factor family in epithelial barrier formation and neural tube closure. By studying this highly conserved protein family in the powerful model system Drosophila, Harrison’s research will provide mechanistic insight into the function of Grainyhead during development and may suggest possible ways to treat or screen for neural tube defects.
  • March 2014: Baron Chanda, PhD, associate professor of neuroscience, received the 2013 Cranefield Award, presented by the Council of the Society of General Physiologists. The award, named after Paul Cranefield, PhD, MD, who for 30 years was the editor of The Journal of General Physiology, is given to a young, independent investigator who published an exceptional article in the journal during the previous year. The society’s leaders selected Chanda for his publication, “Estimating the Voltage-Dependent Free Energy Change of Ion Channels using the Median Voltage for Activation,” published in January 2012. For more information, please see the full article on the SMPH website.
  • February 2014: John Denu, PhD, and Catherine Fox, PhD, both professors in the Department of Biomolecular Chemistry, recently received a two year Collaborative Research Award in the amount of $240,000 from the National Institutes of Health to examine the epigenetic mechanisms that regulate chromosome duplication, a process fundamental to cell proliferation. This award will allow the laboratories of Denu and Fox to team up and define the epigenetic mechanisms that ORC uses to duplicate chromosomes.
  • February 2014: John Denu, PhD, professor, Department of Biomolecular Chemistry, has been asked to serve on the editorial board of the Journal of Biological Chemistry. His renewable board appointment began in fall 2013 and will run through 2018.
  • February 2014: Michelle Kimple, PhD, assistant professor, Division of Endocrinology, Department of Medicine, was funded by the American Diabetes Association for her proposal titled “Arachidonic Acid Metabolism and Beta-Cell Dysfunction: Beyond COX-2.” The long-term goal is to fully characterize the PGE2 synthesis and signaling pathways in the normal and diabetic beta-cell, determining steps that become dysfunctional in the diabetic state, and ultimately modulating these steps for preventative and therapeutic purposes.
  • January 2014: Dr. Avtar Roopra featured in the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health’s Quarterly for breast cancer research.